Garcha-Aravali Emerge Winners of the La Pegasus Polo Northern India Open Polo Championship 2019

Story and Photos : Rakesh Shah
  • Garcha-Aravali beat Sahara Warriors 11-10 in the final
  • AngadKalaan scores 5 for the winning team while DhruvpalGodara scores as many for Sahara Warriors
  • Famous Jaipur Polo Ground Scoreboard now La Pegasus Polo Scoreboard
  • First ever High-Goal Polo tournament in India which was live-streamed

New Delhi, February 24, 2019:In the final of theLa Pegasus Polo Northern India Open Polo Championship 2019, played at the Jaipur Polo Ground, New Delhi, Garcha-Aravalibeat Sahara Warriors by 11-10 in a thrilling game.

AngadKalaan of Garcha-Aravali scored 5 goals for the winning team while DhruvpalGodaraalso scored 5 goals in a losing cause.

Angad opened the scoring for Garcha-Aravali, but Sahara Warriors came back with an equalizer through Mathew Perry in the first ‘Chukker’. The second chukker saw Sahara Warriors take the lead through VanditGolechha, which was followed by another goal from DhruvpalGodara taking the score line to 3-1 in Sahara’s favour.

Garcha-Aravali however came back strong to score two back-to-back goals through Angad and Argentine Manuel Llorente to get back on level terms.

The third chukker saw Sahara Warriors play a strong game again taking a two- goal lead through goals from DhruvpalGodara and Mathew Perry.

The score line at the end of the chukker stood at 5-3 in favour of Sahara Warriors.

AngadKalaan scored two more for Garcha-Aravali followed by another from Manuel Llorente which brought them level again with the score line reading 6-5 at the end of the fourth ‘Chukker’.

The fifth ‘Chukker’ saw Col. Ravi Rathore,VSM, take the lead for Garcha-Aravali, but four quick goals, two each from Dhruvpaland Mathew saw the score line shift back in favour of Sahara at 7-9.

Photos : Rakesh Shah

The sixth ‘Chukker’ saw Garcha-Aravalicome back strong scoring three goals, one each from AngadKalaan, Col. Ravi Rathore and Manuel Llorente to take the lead at 10-9 but DhruvpalGodarascored again for Sahara to tie the game at 10-10 again.

This took the game to the seventh ‘Chukker’ and sealed the championship trophy for Garcha-Aravali, the winning goal coming from Manuel Llorente.

Quarter Master General of the Indian Army Lt. Gen. Ashok Ambre, unveiled the new scoreboard at the Jaipur Polo Ground, New Delhi, and also started the game with the ceremonial throw-in for the final game of theLa Pegasus Polo Northern India Polo Championship 2019,which was played over six ‘Chukkers’.

The day began with an exhibition game between La Pegasus Polo Titans and La Pegasus Polo Knights, which ended in a 3-3 tie. SimranShergil opened the scoring for La Pegasus Polo Titans in the first ‘Chukker’ which was followed by an equalisier by La Pegasus Polo Knights in the second ‘Chukker’. The Titans came back hard to score two more in the second ‘Chukker’, one goal each from Tom Brodie and SimranShergill, taking the score line to 3-1 in favor of the Titans.

The Knights who were trailing by two goals showcased their class to equalize 3-3 through goals from Mitesh Mehta in the third Chukker and Sanjay Kapoor in the fourth Chukker. The final two Chukkers ended goalless as the game finally got over in 3-3 tie.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply